Quintet for Brass, "cry the brazen idols" (2016)

Two trumpets, horn, trombone, tuba. 11'

With text by the composer:​

​From dusted sea
And barren page
Still cry they "thief"
Who never took
And "death"
Who never killed

Still cry the brazen idols
Their fettered hopes and wills

Their elusive sky
Ever turns, unkowing
In tangent hues
Of unbrushed canvas
In listless sighs
Of a broken hymn

Yet still they cry
Of unjust cousins
And fringing neighbors
Still cry they

And where upon the silent cliff
Shall the answer come?

Performance History:

  • ​currently unperformed.